How to hike Isolation in winter.

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Squintyken

Reaction score
(This is my first time starting a thread, FWIW)

I have many specific questions about hiking Isolation in winter and would greatly appreciate any shared experience and wisdom!

First off, to plan my recent attempt, which is posted on trail conditions, I read these threads (and several others):

showthread.php?t=13873; t=5572; t=14491; t=13557
( which led me to this: http://www.voy.com/76694/19.html
and this: http://hikenh.netfirms.com/PDIsolat.htm )

for my questions, I guess it’s easiest to refer to the map on this page:
http://hikenh.netfirms.com/XIsolat.htm
for Bushwacks “D” (bearing 316 cutoff)
“E” / North Col
“F” / South Col

Main problem:
The blowdowns across Davis Path near that North Col are discouraging to say the least. [N44 13.247 W71 18.425 which is 0.3 to 0.2 miles north of the Col (and 0.5 to 0.4 North of Isolation)]

The size and number of blowdowns I saw there makes me wonder if there are more of them along the Davis Path.

Question #1: If I saw large and numerous blowdowns along 0.2 miles worth of Davis Path, does it stand to reason that there are quite a few more blowdowns, randomly distributed, both North and South of Isolation?

Q2: If the blowdowns render the Davis Path every bit as difficult as the bushwack getting to the Davis Path, how about Bushwacking straight to Isolation? Anyone done that?

Q3: Bushwack F / South Col is described as “somewhat thicker with some steeper sections than" E/ North Col. Has anyone done both? Any reason to expect fewer blowdowns on the southern part of Davis Path than the north?

One idea I’ve had was to start with the Glen Boulder trail so that by the time I arrive at blowdowns along the Davis Path I might feel more “fresh”.