goggle questions

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sea level mike

Reaction score
hi all

i'm just getting into winter hiking. do i need expensive goggles, or can i get by with a balaclava and my sunglasses or a cheaper pair of motocross goggles. ?
any input is appreciated

thanks

mike baffaro

As usual its not a black or white answer. If you are just getting into winter hiking, you probably are starting out on lower 4000 footers that consist of mostly woods walking with a short section of above treeline summit cone on a defined treadway. As a beginner you will be watching the weather forecast and will be avoiding potentially hazardous conditions. Given that assumption, a pair of sunglasses with good coverage and a good uv rating is all you need. I have found a lot of safety glasses from the major suppliers fill the bill.

Now if you graduate to the higher 4000 footers where you may be above treeline for long periods of time in areas where the treadway may blow in, (such as along the main Presidential ridge and the Franconia ridge) or if you are out for multiday trips where you may get caught by a change in weather then googles are highly recomended.

As for myself, I have found that if the conditions potentially warrant googles, I will find something else to do :rolleyes: like build furniture!