Winter Hiking Boots Recommendations

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RollingRock

Reaction score
I did a forum search and could not come up with anything. I'm in the market for new winter hiking boots. I've been using Columbia's Ice Dragons for the past 2-3 years. They have worked fine but I'm just curious to see what everyone else is wearing. I'm not interested in plastic boots. I wore Sorels for many years and really did like them but I believe newer models of winter hiking boots are just as warm and lighter. Thanks for your input!

Good leather boots

We go 4-6 times per winter on overnight trips, often staying at AMC huts. We wear regular old fashioned 'Norwegian Welt style' boots, properly waxed. It works just fine. I carry 2 extrapairs of dry socks and shopping grocery bags. In case it gets really really really cold and wet I slip them between two pairs of socks for the trip back down.

During overnights I try to put them by the woodstove to dry them out as much as possible and usually it works just fine. If we're not in a hut then I have them under my head during the night, keeping them relatively warm.

For weekend warriors like us this works just fine.

Lots of people rave about the Salomon B52s.

I will be trying out the Garmont Momentum Snow GTXs this year:
http://www.zappos.com/garmont-momentum-snow-gtx~2

I had the opportunity to check them out at a friend's house this past weekend. Fairly lightweight (looks like they are a little over 1lb lighter than the Ice Dragons), VERY stiff sole for a non-mountaineering boot (not that it matters because I almost never use crampons) and solid construction.

Started Winter hiking with the Ice Dragons - good warm boot. But after 2 years graduated to plastic in order to wear stepin crampons. Used those for 2 years before switching to La Sportiva Nepal's which I used for the past 2 years. (Bob)