Hypothermia on Eisenhower

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

darren

Poobah Emeritus
Reaction score
With all the recent threads about the dangers of hiking, I figured it was time to post an old story once again. The only bad lesson is one that isn't learned. I learned, hopefully someone else can too.

I'm an engineer and can't write to save my butt, but here it is anyway. It was orignially on this site about 10 years ago.

------------------

The phone rang. It was late in the day on Thursday and I was just about to leave work, so I didn't feel like answering it, but I did.

"Hello?"

"Roy is out." was the reply from the other end.

"Damn" I thought. I was looking forward to hiking with two of my old college friends that weekend. Dave, the one on the phone, had found me on the Internet. I hadn't seen Dave in about five years and I hadn't seen Roy in about seven. It turned out that our separate paths in life had all led to winter hiking in the White Mountains of New Hampshire. After several emails and phone calls, we had planned a Presidential traverse for that weekend. What better way to get reacquainted?

Dave was explaining how Roy couldn't make it and I was half listening, already wondering to myself if Dave and I should attempt the traverse without Roy. Three is a lot safer than two.

"Are you still in?" was the next group of words I heard and I responded "Ah, yeah, of course." I had been sick all week, but I was starting to feel better and I hoped that it would go away by the time we started hiking.