"Full" Winter Gear?

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cooperhill

Reaction score
I'm new to winter hiking and wondering what others more experienced on VFFT would define as "full winter gear". What are you carrying now, over and above gear for a fall hike, when climbing in the whites, especially above treeline?

Are Plastic boots or similar winter footwear needed now? Also, I've always wondered when to bring snowshoes - are folks already carrying them? In terms of clothing, do you wear full gore-tex? On the few winter hikes I've done I started out in long johns and shorts and moved up to a pair of schoeller Mammut pants and extra layers.

I know most of this comes from experience but I'm hoping some of you can get me started in the right direction. Thanks

-------------------------------------------------------------

Chris

I would consider “full winter gear” as enough layers (head to toe) to keep you warm and dry through the night even if it a day hike. That may include a sleeping bag and should include some kind of insulating ground pad. Same applies for the feet - boot and socks that will keep you warm enough for the conditions overnight. Traction devices as conditions warrant.

That said I have never worn plastic boots (LaSportiva K2’s / insulated leather have worked for me for many winters). I wouldn’t carry snowshoes yet but would take at least Stabilicers.

I do not start wearing plastics until most of my hike is going to be on snow. At this point, with just a few inches in the higher elevations, I'll stick to my heavy leathers.

For snowshoes, once I hear there's at *least* a foot of snow where I'm going, I'll start to carry them. Anything less than that isn't really going to posthole and I don't mind the occasional grind through a drift. Note that in the ADKs it's a requirement to have them once two feet of snow are on the ground.